Harpswell is a town in Cumberland County, Maine, within Casco Bay on the Gulf of Maine. Its population is approximately 5,031 as of the 2020 census. The town has a few attractions that visitors can enjoy. These attractions include Popham Beach, Land’s End Cove, Ash Cove Pottery, and the Old Meeting House.
Popham Beach is a 605-acre state park that stretches along the Atlantic Ocean. It is located in the town of Phippsburg in Sagadahoc County, Maine. It is the highest-volume day-use state park in Maine.
Popham Beach is a popular location for water activities, and you’ll love the scenic views. It’s also dog-friendly. From October to March, dogs are allowed on the beaches of Maine state parks. Another place to visit in Hampton, Maine is the Fort Popham State Historic Site, a former 19th-century military post that features walking paths and old defensive walls.
Popham Beach is a unique location for a family vacation. It’s the only state park in Maine with both an ocean and oceanfront area. The park is home to several hiking trails and restroom facilities. Historic Fort Popham is just two miles south of Popham Beach.
Popham Beach is bordered by the Kennebec River, and has a long sand beach. It’s also home to two offshore islands, Wood and Fox. Visitors can walk to Fox Island during low tide, but be careful to watch the rising tides! The beach is popular with surfers and swimmers. Shell collecting is also a popular pastime.
Located in midcoast Maine, Popham Beach State Park offers the perfect beach getaway. It has rolling Atlantic waves and classic New England charm. If you’re planning a long weekend vacation in Hampton, be sure to check out Popham Beach State Park. If you’re looking for a great hotel near the beach, consider staying at the Hampton Inn Bath. The Hampton Inn Bath also offers free breakfast and an indoor pool. The nearby Bath has a Saturday farmers market and is a great place to shop for groceries.
Land’s End Cove
This small cove is one of the many places to visit in Hampton, Maine. Located on Bailey Island, Land’s End offers spectacular views of Casco Bay and Pinnacle Rock, a small rocky beach known for collecting sea glass. The area also offers portable restrooms and a gift shop.
Visitors to Land’s End Cove can enjoy two floors of local products, including artwork by nearly 100 Maine artisans. This gift shop is a souvenir lover’s paradise! The Hutchins family has owned the store since 1959. Originally a snack bar, the shop was completely renovated in 1978 after a damaging January storm.
Visitors can also experience a lobster fishing village nearby. The town is known for its seafood and has several restaurants offering great views of the Goat Island Lighthouse. If you’d rather relax, a quiet historic town with a small downtown is also a great option.
Old Meeting House
The Old Meeting House in Harpswell, ME is a striking example of New England Colonial style architecture. Built in 1757, the church is the oldest of its kind in Maine. The congregation worships in a two-1/2 story structure with a gable roof. It is situated across the road from the present-day church and seats about 50 to 70 people in the off-season, and 80 to 90 during the summer months. Today, services are broadcast live and recorded for viewing by Harpswell Community Television.
In the 1750s, the Town of Yarmouth included the towns of Harpswell, Falmouth, and Cape Small Point. The town also included 99 islands in Casco Bay. The early settlers of Harpswell contributed to preaching efforts for years. But after years of hardships, the community petitioned for separation. In 1749, the General Court approved the separation.
The Town of Harpswell inherited the Meeting House in 1938. In the meantime, it was unused for 15 years. However, in 1938, the town took control of it and made detailed drawings of it to be preserved. These drawings are now housed in the Library of Congress.
The Old Meeting House in Harpswell, ME is one of the oldest meeting houses in the state. It was built for a Congregational community. In 1751, the town hired a Harvard graduate as its minister. The Reverend Richard Pateshall preached there for three years. The next minister, Reverend Elisha Eaton, was hired in 1753. The congregation had needed a meeting house for several years. The Reverend enlisted his son to help him with the building. The boy helped by constructing the sashes and frames.
If you’re looking for a historical building, the Old Meeting House is worth a visit. Across the street is the Elijah Kellogg Church, and a small cemetery is nearby. In the summer, the church is open for worship.
Ash Cove Pottery
Ash Cove Pottery is a seaside studio that specializes in stoneware pottery. It was founded in 1975 and has been producing its handmade pieces for over 38 years. It employs two employees at its single location and is owned by women. In addition to its pottery-making activities, the company sells gifts and other items.
The company’s founder, Susan Horowitz, has been making pottery since she was a young child. She and her father first took pottery classes at a pottery school near Santa Cruz, California. Afterward, she moved to Maine and worked as a ceramics counselor at Camp Fernwood in Poland.
The lighthouse on Nubble Island is one of the most iconic American lighthouses. It is a landmark that has been immortalized in calendars, posters, and postcards. Many Maine tours include a stop at the lighthouse as part of the itinerary. Visitors can explore the lighthouse’s history and get an insider’s look at its daily operations. The lighthouse is also a great place for bird watchers. In fact, the island is home to a variety of shorebirds.
The Nubble Lighthouse is 88 feet high, and is made of bricks. The bricks are reinforced by wrap-around steel plates. It also has a circular stairwell that wraps around the entire lighthouse. From there, visitors can ascend to the lighthouse platform and the base of the lens room. A wooden ramp and an eight-step steel ladder allow visitors to climb the lighthouse’s tower and view the water below.
In addition to the Nubble Lighthouse, visitors can also explore the park surrounding it. It is home to a gift shop, as well as restroom facilities. During the warmer months of the year, it is open seven days a week. Open daily from May to late October, the park features picnic areas and fishing access. Visitors can also watch great black-backed gulls, double-crested cormorants, harbor seals, and other marine wildlife.
Those who are interested in exploring the lighthouse and the surrounding area should head to Sohier Park. Located on Cape Nedick, the park provides a number of kayaking opportunities. Visitors can bring their children along for the adventure. For couples, kayaking is a romantic activity.